Dynamic Montesilvano

Montesilvano

The old town Montesilvano Colle is located on a ridge of a rather extensive and steep hill, while the new city Montesilvano Marina stretches along the coast all the way to Pescara. The old town has existed for more than a millennium and the new city – only for few decades. The beautiful name Montesilvano means «wooded mountain». This old name is still true today.

A maritime quarter (Marina) began flourishing when a railway from Bologna to Otranto was built in 1863 and a railway station was opened. Today, the station has lost its former importance since only regional trains stop here. In 2002, on the first floor of the station was opened the small Museum of train (Museo del Treno di Montesilvano), dedicated to the history of railway in the region.

Grand Hotels in Montesilvano

In 1960-1970, the city’s population increased rapidly because of internal migration, in fact, the vast majority of residents came from other regions of Italy. In 1951, the number of inhabitants made up only 7,300 people, and in 2009 - already 50,200. As a result, Montesilvano ranks fifth in Abruzzo in terms of population.

During 1963-1966, large modern hotels (Grandi albergi) were built on the coast, making the city a major tourist center. The entertainment complex Warner Brothers and the Palace of Congresses were built near the grand hotels. There is virtually no industry in Montesilvano, but it disposes a well-developed service sector, primarily trade. Montesilvano is an ideal place for a comfortable family vacation.

In this article information was used from the sites www.it.wikipedia.org, www.comune.montesilvano.pe.it.


© SanTatiana.ru, 2010

Монтесильвано

Монтесильвано

Старый город Montesilvano Colle расположен на невысоком, но крутом холме, а новый город Montesilvano Marina тянется вдоль побережья до самой Пескары. Старому городу более тысячелетия, а новый город насчитывает всего несколько десятков лет. Благозвучное имя Монтесильвано означает «гора, покрытая лесом». Это старое название и по сей день соответствует действительности.

Приморская часть (Marina) начала бурно развиваться после завершения в 1863 году строительства железной дороги от Болоньи до Отранто и появления здесь железнодорожной станции. Сегодня эта станция утратила свое былое значение. Теперь здесь останавливаются только региональные (пассажирские) поезда, на которых можно доехать только до близлежащих городков. На первом этаже вокзала в 2002 году открылся маленький Музей поезда (Museo del Treno di Montesilvano), посвященный истории развития железной дороги в регионе.

Гранд-отели Монтесильвано

В 1960-1970 годах город пережил бурное развитие, благодаря внутренней миграции, в сущности, подавляющее большинство жителей города являются выходцами из других регионов Италии. Если в 1951 году численность его жителей составляла всего 7,3 тысяч человек, то в 2009 году – уже 50,2 тысяч. Кстати, по численности населения Монтесильвано занимает пятое место в Абруццо.

В 1963-1966 годах на самом берегу моря были построены большие современные отели (Grandi albergi), превратив город в крупный туристический центр. Рядом с гранд-отелями располагаются культурно-развлекательный комплекс Warner Brothers и Дворец конгрессов. В Монтесильвано практически нет промышленных предприятий, но хорошо развита сфера услуг, в первую очередь, торговля. Монтесильвано является идеальным местом для спокойного семейного отдыха.

При подготовке статьи были использованы материалы сайтов www.it.wikipedia.org, www.comune.montesilvano.pe.it.


© SanTatiana.ru, 2010